The FIA Formula 2 Championship is a second-tier single-seater racing championship organized by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA). The championship was introduced in 2017, following the rebranding of the long-term Formula One feeder series GP2. Designed to make racing affordable for the teams and to make it an ideal training ground for life in Formula One, Formula 2 has made it mandatory for all of the teams to use the same chassis, engine and tire supplier so that true driver ability is reflected.


The Friday one Free Practice session of 45 minutes and one Qualifying session of 30 minutes.

Two sprint races will take place on Saturday and will both consist of 120 kilometres or 45 minutes, whichever comes first.

The Feature Race will now take place on Sunday morning ahead of the Formula 1 Grand Prix. It will be still be one hour long or 170 kilometres (whichever comes first) and will keep a compulsory pitstop, in which all four tyres must be changed. Unless the driver has used wet-weather tyres during the Feature Race, they must use at least one set of each specification of dry-weather tyres during the Feature Race.

A timetable will be issued ahead of every round to determine timings of each session.


With three races and only one Qualifying session taking place per event, the results of the Friday’s final classification of the Qualifying session will determine the starting grid for the Sunday Feature Race.

The starting grid of Saturday’s Sprint Race 1 will be determined by reversing the top 10 finishers of Friday’s Qualifying session results.

Lastly, the starting grid of Saturday’s Sprint Race 2 will be determined by reversing the top 10 finishers of Sprint Race 1..

next event

  • days
  • Hours
  • Min
  • Sec